Researchers win prestigious award

Three researchers from Aarhus BSS are members of the team, who obtained the prestigious award ‘ForskEL-prisen 2015’ for the research project “READY — Heat pumps in a smart grid future”

2015.06.08 | Julia Rolsted Stacey

Photo: Julia Rolsted Stacey, Aarhus BSS Communication.

On 2 June 2015, the READY team, including Professor John Thøgersen, Postdoctoral Fellow Geertje Schuitema (now Lecturer at University College Dublin) and PhD Student now Postdoctoral Fellow Madeleine Broman Toft from the Department of Management, was honored at the conference ‘EnergiForsk15’ in Copenhagen, where they received the ‘ForskEL-prisen 2015’ for this year's best ForskEL project. The award is given to the best completed research project in the field of energy research.

The project “READY — Heat pumps in a smart grid future has” been carried out by a consortium of NEAS Energy, Neogrid Technologies, PlanEnergi, Ea Energy Analyses, Aalborg University and Aarhus University.

The purpose of the READY project was to demonstrate how you can control many individual heat pumps according to electricity spot prices and the need for regulating power – i.e. to a greater extent make consumers use the power when it is there and not when it is not.

You can read more about the project here

Further information

John Thøgersen
Department of Management
Direct phone: +45 8716 5008