Keynote Speakers & Organisation

Mark Finster

Associate Professor

Mark P. Finster is a faculty member in the Wisconsin School of Business, the Gaylord Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies, the College of Engineering, the Center for Quality and Productivity Improvement, the Energy Institute, the Consortium for Global Electronic Commerce, Industrial System Engineering, Sustainable Systems Engineering, and the Center for Quick-Response Manufacturing.  He also serves on the executive boards of the Center for Operations and Technology Management, the Global Studies program, and Manufacturing Systems Engineering.

Professor Finster received his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan and has served as a professor at Cornell and Johns Hopkins Universities.  He is a five-time National Science Foundation (NSF) Scholar and chaired the NSF session that established its national research program in organisational excellence. 

Professor Finster’s research interests address sustainable approaches to improvement and the role sustainability plays in innovative design of products, services, systems and businesses.  He serves on the Board of Directors at Home Savings Bank and has helped improve the management systems of more than 150 businesses, government agencies, and nonprofit organisations from four continents.

Alex Atzberger

Chief of Staff


Alex is Chief of Staff to the CEO of SAP. He handles all operations of the CEO office, manages the governance of SAP’s Executive Board, and guides the corporate functions from strategy to M&A. Before this, Alex was the head of Fast Growth Markets, responsible for SAP’s long‐term growth in China, the Middle East and Russia. Alex has been passionate about global business and digital disruption throughout his career, including prior roles with McKinsey and Marvel Entertainment. In 2013, Alex was selected as a Young Global Leader of the World Economic Forum. Alex holds an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Harry Hertz


Director Emeritus, Baldrige Performance Excellence Program

National Institute of Standards and Technology

Dr. Hertz has been with the National Institute of Standards and Technology since 1973, originally as a research chemist, and then in a series of management positions including Director of the Chemical Science and Technology Laboratory. He served as the Director of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program from 1995- June, 2013. He now serves as the Program’s Director Emeritus. Dr. Hertz has made presentations to a wide variety of audiences on elements of organisational excellence and change management, the Baldrige criteria for measuring performance excellence, and on health care quality improvement.  He has been the intellectual driver behind the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence and their evolving definition of performance excellence for almost 20 years.

He has a B.S. in Chemistry from the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn and a Ph.D. from M.I.T.  Following graduate school, Dr. Hertz spent two years as an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow at the University of Munich.  He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and an Honorary Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives.

Andy Neely


Director, Cambridge Service Alliance

Andy Neely is Founding Director of the Cambridge Service Alliance and the Royal Academy of Engineering Professor of Complex Services. He is widely recognized for his work on the servitization of manufacturing, as well as his work on performance measurement and management. Previously he has held appointments at Cranfield University, London Business School, Cambridge University, where he was a Fellow of Churchill College, Nottingham University, where he completed his PhD and British Aerospace. He was Deputy Director of AIM Research – the UK’s management research initative – from 2003 until 2012 and was elected a Fellow of the Sunningdale Institute in 2005, a Fellow of the British Academy of Management in 2007, an Academician of the Academy of Social Sciences in 2008 and a Fellow of the European Operations Management Association in 2009.

Andy is widely recognised as one of the world's leading authorities on organisational performance measurement and management. He has authored over 100 books and articles, including "Measuring Business Performance", published by the Economist and "The Performance Prism", published by the Financial Times. He has won numerous awards for his research and chairs the Performance Measurement Association, an international network for those interested in the performance measurement and management. Currently he is researching issues of performance and business model innovation in service businesses.

  • Keynote: "Next Generation Performance Management & Measurement: the Big Data Revolution"

Conference Chairs

  • Professor Andy Neely, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Rick Edgeman, ICOA, Aarhus University
  • Professor Jacob Eskildsen, ICOA, Aarhus University

International Programme Committee

  • Dr. Charles Aubrey, Chairman – Asia Pacific Quality Organization & International Academy of Quality Board Member, Vice President Emeritus of Performance Excellence – AndersonBrecon (USA)
  • Professor Mike Bourne – Cranfield School of Management (United Kingdom)
  • Professor Elias Carayannis – George Washington University (USA)
  • Professor Eileen Drew – Trinity College Dublin (Ireland)
  • Professor A. Blanton Godfrey – Dean, College of Textiles, North Carolina State University and former CEO of the Juran Institute (USA)
  • Professor T.N. Goh – National University of Singapore & 2012 Winner of the ASQ Grant Award (Singapore)
  • Professor Douglas Hensler, Provost – Naval Postgraduate School (USA)
  • Dr. Harry Hertz – Director, US Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Program (USA)
  • Emeritus Professor Kai Kristensen – Aarhus University & Chairman of the Board of Ennova (Denmark)
  • Professor Robin Mann – Massey University, Head of Centre for Organisational Excellence Research (COER) and Director of Ltd. (New Zealand)
  • Professor Hiroshi Osada – Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Institute of Technology & 2009 Winner of Deming Prize for Individuals (Japan)
  • Mr. John Peters – CEO of GSE Research & Past CEO of Emerald Publishing (United Kingdom)
  • Dr. Greg Watson – Past President of the American Society for Quality, Past Chairman of the International Academy of Quality, Chairman at Business Excellence Solutions, Ltd. (Finland)
  • Dr. Joseph Williams – Dean, School of Business & Economics, Seattle Pacific University (USA)

Platinum Sponsors

  • The KPI Institute
  • Corporater - Business in Control

Sponsors & Partners

  • GSE Research
  • Greenleaf Publishing
  • Business Expert Press
  • Emerald Insight - Best Paper Award
  • Centre for Leadership

Jointly Organised by

  • Performance Management
  • University of Cambridge
  • Aarhus University